And we’re waiting for…

I came across a meme on Facebook recently that credited Carl Jung with a quote.  I haven’t been able to confirm that, but I do like what it says.  The quote reads:  Life begins at 40.  Before that you were just doing research.

If you’ve followed my blog a long time (did I really start in 2008??) you may recall that it’s not been all sunshine and roses.  For those of you newer to the blog, let me recap.  I’m 42 years old, happily divorced, no kids, raised to be a wallflower by a mother who had her own truckload of baggage.  There were many things I learned from my mother that I have spent the last several years trying to unlearn.  I’ve been what you’d call a late bloomer to doing that research mentioned in the meme.

The question is what do I want to be when I grow up.  The answer: I still don’t know.  I have a few ideas that I feel quite strongly about.  The problem is that I’m still letting my mother’s lack of confidence hold back my own.  You see, Mom didn’t let me explore a lot of things to figure out who I was and what I wanted.  I did get to try a few things if I made enough noise about it.  But in general, I had to rely on my librarians to help me explore.

I have a news flash for you: reading about great adventures and amazing experiences is not the same thing as living those adventures and experiences.  So I come across this meme and I start thinking, what am I waiting on?  What are the things I want to do that I’ve not tried yet?  What do I want to be when I grow up?

fender_stratocaster_guitar_3The two constants in my life have been music and the written word.  Currently I write my blog (yes, I know, need to more often) and I’m editing for Voluted Tales Magazine.  I also have my own writing that I’m working on.  I’m shopping around for a guitar to start learning to play.  And I’m working on a steampunk-styled Adventure Time cosplay for the St. Patrick’s Day party I’m having next month.  I LOVE making clothes and costumes and props.  I’m a very crafty wench.

So that’s writing/editing, playing guitar, and cosplay.  I’m not waiting any longer.  Mom died in 2002.  Sometimes I still feel her influence, but it’s not as strong as it used to be.  Me…I’m getting stronger every day.  I’m trying to make good use of the time I spend in my chair and find new adventures to draw me out of it.

What haven’t you done yet?  What are you waiting for? …

Leave a Reply

