With a little help….

How well do you have to know someone to call them a friend?  Do they have to live close by?  Be close to you in age?  How much must you have in common?

The people who come into our lives are as varied as they are many.  Some we may look like, some we have almost everything in common, some are so different that we can’t help but be drawn to them.

I don’t have to have a lot of common interests with my friends.  Sometimes it’s a good way to learn something new.  Makes for interesting conversation and it’s a good way to discover new music or books or movies.  My friends are my family.  They are as welcome and comfortable in my house as any of the relatives I live with.  Some even more so 😉

I have lost friends.  As I get more comfortable with being who I am, I’ve lost my kid gloves.  I don’t sugarcoat anything.  If you ask me a question be damn sure you want the answer.  All I ask of any of my friends is to be honest with me and speak your mind, don’t wait or hold back.  I try me damnedest to do the same.  Not all of them can accept that.

The greatest thing you can be is an honest friend.  Only a truly honest & caring friend will tell you the truth even when it hurts.  But they are also there to help you take the next step.  There may be days when I don’t want to keep going.  The words don’t flow.  I drop half of everything I pick up.  Nothing goes right.  I can get through it with a little help.

 

One thought on “With a little help….”

Leave a Reply

