You say it’s your birthday….

Okay, I’m taking today to write a very special blog.  This blog is for someone who means the world to me.  She’s young enough to act like a sister, mature enough to lead like a parent, and cool enough to be one of my best friends.  Her name is Cindi Lockman and she’s my aunt.

In 2002 I lost my mother in a car accident along with my grandmother.  I basically shut down.  I couldn’t write, had to be reminded to eat, just sat and stared into space a lot.  But Cindi wouldn’t let me stay down for long.  She taught me to meditate.  It’s the only way I was able to cope with the grief.

Cindi has helped me through the loss of my father and the death of a marriage that probably should never have happened.  I moved in with Cindi when my marriage fell apart, about 3 1/2 years ago.  Since that miserable January day, I have discovered more about myself and my family than I could have ever imagined.

My aunt has taught me how to be independent, to take care of my own business and to know when to ask for help.  We have shared tears and laughter.  We tell each other everything.  I would be lost without her.

Today is Cindi’s birthday.  Myself, the rest of the family and her friends have helped her have a great day today.  I’m very happy to have been a part of her celebration.  I hope she’s around for many, many more.

I love you, Cindi.  Happy happy birthday!

One thought on “You say it’s your birthday….”

Leave a Reply

