Simmer down….

I hate wasting energy.  Sometimes I need to vent and it feels like a huge valve has released all my frustration and anger.  Once the valve closes I feel drained, tired.  Then I get irritated with myself because it feels like I’ve wasted a lot of energy getting upset over something that I can not change.

All my friends come to me for advice in some shape or form.  It’s like I have Dear Abby tattooed on my ass.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love to help my friends.  And I’m finding as I get older I enjoy picking apart people’s motivations for their actions.  But Dear Abby I’m not.

I can’t fix everyone.  Even the ones that realize the issues and want help, I can only do so much.  I am just one person with my own issues and flaws.  You have to want to help yourself if you expect to see positive change.

So I have to let go of my own frustration, my anger.  Let it simmer down and cool.  Whatever I’m supposed to accomplish will happen one way or another.  I just have to remember not to fight it.  I’ve found this mantra to be helpful:

Goddess, grant me the serenity to accept the people I can not change, the courage to help the ones I can, and the wisdom to tell the rest to shit or get off the pot.

 

Leave a Reply

