Structure

How well do you follow instructions?  Can you meet deadlines?  Do you work well under pressure?  I have been giving this some thought recently as I contemplate the end of NaNoWriMo.  I usually do work well under pressure.  And I definitely work better with set guidelines to follow.  Give me a set of rules and will make sure anyone involved follows those rules or dies trying.

NaNoWriMo is based on getting words on the page without worrying about structure.  Editing is not allowed. Just write until your arms fall off.  It sounds like a fun concept.  Unless you are the type of person who needs guidelines and structure.  Even with a loose goal of 1667 words each day, there is not enough pressure to perform.  So I am sitting here looking at half the word count I want,  still feeling the angst over characters who are waiting for me to bring them to life.  And what am I doing?  Yes, I know, I am writing.  And it is about NaNoWriMo.  Technically I could use the blog to add to my word count.  But that does not finish my story about a demon who is targeted by a jealous co-worker.  It does not help my aging super villain with her search for inner peace and romance.  My half elf/half giant yoga instructor is still a flop with chicks!

Yes, I will count my blog in my word count.  It is being written during November and the subject matter is NaNoWriMo.  I will keep trying to make myself stay in my chair, with extra pain meds and coffee, and keep typing until the words blur across my screen or my hands go numb.  One of these days I will figure out how to make NaNo more structured for those of us who need the extra support.  Oh, look!  Another 300 words!  So to paraphrase one of my favorite movies:  Just keep writing! Just keep writing! Just keep writing!

 

 

One thought on “Structure”

Leave a Reply

