The Day After….

Yes, it’s the day after Christmas and the Jolly Fatman did in fact appear in my kitchen.  This is my adorable redneck of a brother in a Santa suit.  He played Santa for an assisted living facility this year at the pleading of our aunt who runs the place.

This photo has freaked a few of my family members almost as much as Santa freaked out my aunt in person.  You see, my father always played Santa for my aunt’s facility before he got too sick.  We grew up with our father being Santa for many years.  He did it for the joy of seeing a child’s face light up.  He was always willing to help give a child that special Christmas memory of seeing Santa themselves.

I was very surprised to hear that my brother had agreed to be Santa this year.  He scares grown adults walking through the grocery store with his shaved head and earrings and tattoos showing most all of his exposed skin.  He just looks like he should be riding a Harley.  I love my brother dearly and he’ll kill me for saying this.  Francis is a big sweetheart.  He’s shy sometimes and silly.  He cleans house on his days off and likes to cook.  He also likes to build things, and more so here recently, he likes to make people happy.

Francis is a lot like our dad.  We both look like him, but I think Francis acts more like Dad than I do.  Of course he does have Mom’s temper sometimes.  But that’s okay.  I think he got the best parts of Dad in his genetics.  He was so anxious for me to open my Christmas presents from him this year.  He teased me for several days prior about making me wait.  But you could see the excitement in his eyes.

It was nice to have him so happy for the holidays this year.  We lost Mom in 2002 and Dad in 2007.  It’s been a while since we were happy at Christmas.  Francis was the first one up Christmas morning.  He has come a long way in his 32 years and I am very proud of him.  I love you, Baby Brother.

My brother, Francis
5 thoughts on “The Day After….”

  1. I’m trying to figure out why you tagged a post about your brother with “sex”

    Other than that….

    I’m glad you had a good holiday. I’m sure you needed the break!

    Also like the new layout.

    1. LOL Glad you like it, Bethea. Thank you. I use lots of tags so I get more attention when people are surfing for stuff to read.

  2. I love your post, it’s great to learn how much you cherish your family ties and to see how Christmas makes one so sentimental as I felt on Christmas day. I can relate to you. This is the first Christmas we’ve had to experience without my father (who passed away recently) and I’ve dreaded how sad I would feel, but I now cherish my family members so much more and I also try to see my fathers traits in my only sister. My whole family got Tracfone phones for X-mas from my mom as a measure to keep in touch with each other more often. The deep love you experience amongst your family can’t be beat.

    1. I’m very sorry for your loss. If my blog helped in small way, I am very honored to have done so. Prayers and blessings to your family this holiday season.

  3. I did some time as a commercial (cheap and simplistic) photographer while I was going through a BA in photojournalism. Yeah, I shot Santa in a mall a couple of years back then. That’s a natural thing, right? It was great watching most of the kids be bright lights when they sat with Santa – the pay sucked but the time was great. USUALLY! I saw lousy brats do things like yank the beard and some adults nearly break Santa’s lap during shoots. Those all qualified as photojournalism – and interesting things if you stop to watch.

Leave a Reply

