Get your hands dirty…

*(That is not a sexual innuendo.  Shocker!  )*

I had forgotten how messy chalk pastels could be.  Reminded myself today and had more fun than should be possible doing a line study.  All I was doing was drawing lines of various widths in different colors.  But I was making something, creating something.  And I was getting my hands dirty.

When was the last time you did something not work-related that you enjoyed while making a thorough mess?  I’m talking dirty hands, sweaty, smudges on your face kinda dirty.  Do you remember?  Did you enjoy it?

I’ve been looking at the box of chalks for over a week now.  They got quite loud over the weekend.  “Take us out! Let’s make a picture!”  It’s been a very long time since I got artsy.  Yes, I forgot how much dust you make with chalks, and how the colors smudge on your fingers.

I also forgot the simply joy of putting color on paper in a pattern all my own.  I’ve been rediscovering a lot of things about myself lately.  The one I enjoy the most is how much I love to create things.  Several of my friends found out recently that I sew.  Now there’s talk of making costumes.  And I have my sketch pad and chalks, among other things.

I think the art exhibit I saw during my recent trip to the science center helped relight this spark of creativity.  I found a quote from Joss Whedon yesterday that sums it up nicely:  Write it.  Shoot it.  Publish it.  Crochet it, saute it, whatever.  MAKE.

 
What are you making today?

 

Leave a Reply

