Keep digging

Many of my writing ideas come from the music I listen to. At the moment I’m working on a story to submit to an anthology. I’ve been struggling to nail down my character and her struggle in the story. There are some specific requirements for this anthology and I like the challenge of having to match them. It’s not easy. Especially when the barest hint of an idea is dancing around the skirt tails of my muse just out of reach.  At least until today…

I have had four or five different versions of this character in mind without anything definitive. While doing dishes this afternoon I heard a new song by the band Three Days Grace. Scenes started popping into my head. Dialogue, possible conflicts, different paths for my main character and those around her all started blossoming. That’s when you know you have the right song. I have lyrics in my notes for four or five other songs, all related to different parts of my story. But I needed this one to get it set in stone. I love it when a plan comes together.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

